Book Review – Held by Him

Hello all and a belated Merry Christmas – I hope you have all had a good and peaceful time 🙂

What better way to relax and unwind at this time of year than having a good read and that is just what I have spent the last few hours doing… and this is what I read:

“Held by Him” by Michelle Abbott
https://www.amazon.co.uk/Held-Him-Book-Michelle-Abbott-ebook/dp/B01LZZQLXE/ref=pd_rhf_gw_p_img_1?_encoding=UTF8&psc=1&refRID=6GDDR8R0W1G0FKG90RPC


heldBlurb: CALIN
I’m a master at controlling my feelings. I’ve had years of practice. My only release comes from cutting.
And pain. I like pain.
I don’t get involved in kidnapping…usually. Now, thanks to my father, I have a redhead locked in a room and cuffed to the bed.
Not just any redhead, this one has a smart mouth, and she’s a fighter. She fights me, and I love it.
She gets under my skin. She makes me feel.
She’s my firecracker.
But, if her brother doesn’t pay back the money he stole from us, I have to kill her.

MISTY
Drinking a cocktail that was laced with Rohypnol is the stupidest thing I’ve ever done.
But with an alcoholic for a father, and a drug addicted mother, I suppose intelligence was never going to be my strong suit.
Now, thanks to my idiot brother, I’m being held captive by a man who gets off on taunting and humiliating me.
A sadist.
I should be scared.
But he’s making me feel things I’ve never felt before. He’s doing things no one has done for me before.
I should be focusing on staying alive. Instead, I’m falling for a killer.

Rating: 4/5

My thoughts: I found this book a quick and satisfying read. I wasn’t sure at first if I would take to the format as the narrative alternates between the two main characters of Calin and Misty but after a couple of minutes I settled into it and found the story flowed very easily.

This is a romance with a twist – Misty should be afraid of the man who is holding her captive, but instead she cannot deny her attraction for him. Calin should be keeping his distance from the woman he will most probably have to kill, but she gets to him in a way no one else ever has before. Passion sparks in this story pretty much from the start and it draws you in.

The ending certainly leaves you wanting more 🙂 A most enjoyable read!

Leave a Reply

