Heartstopper – Pillow Talk

Okay, so I may just have developed myself a slight Heartstopper addition. Seriously, if you haven’t see the Netflix show/read the graphic novels, you are missing out BIG TIME.

And yes, I know – being a middle aged (ouch), straight woman, I am hardly the target audience, but that is partly the beauty of it. It really can appeal to anyone – such a beautiful and uplifting love story – with a cast I just want to put in a bubble and keep safe forever!

Anyway, it’s been a while since this has happened, but I got this little future scene starting to run around in my head, and I know from past experience that the only way to silence it would be to write it down. So I did. I really wish I could draw so I could have presented this as a little comic strip, but such a talent eludes me so instead here it is in a kind of dialogue block. I hope someone likes it, but if not, oh well… I enjoyed writing it down 🙂

Heartstopper – Pillow Talk

10 years in the future – Nick is 26 and Charlie 25.

Nick and Charlie are lying in bed, it’s getting late.

Nick is on his back, one hand on his chest, his eyes closed. Charlie is on his side facing Nick, one hand under his head, his eyes are open.

Charlie: Nick?

Nick: Hmm?

Charlie: Do you ever…

Nick opens his eyes and turns to face Charlie: What?

Charlie: Doesn’t matter.

In the subdued light of the bedroom Nick can see Charlie’s brow furrowed in thought.

Nick: No, go on, what?

Charlie: Well, I just… do you ever regret us getting together so young?

Nick turns to lie on his side facing Charlie: What? No… why would you think that?

Charlie: It’s just… I dunno… you never got to like… sleep with a woman or anything.

Nick smiles: Nor did you!

Charlie: But I never wanted to.

Nick’s smile widens: Nor did I!

Charlie pauses in thought before speaking again: But you do, I mean, you like women? You still fancy them and that?

Nick: Yeah, and you fancy other men sometimes, I mean, I’ve seen your face when that fit postman brings a parcel round.

Charlie: Hey, that’s not just me. You think he’s hot too.

Nick: Exactly. But neither of us want to do anything about it, do we.

Charlie: No, I guess not.

Nick: Besides, I only ever wanted to sleep with someone I was in love with.

Charlie: But you’ve only ever slept with…. oh!

Nick: Actually…

Nick pauses to kiss Charlie’s forehead: Actually, I’m glad we got together when we did.

Charlie: You are?

Nick: Yeah, I mean imagine all that drama of dating loads of people trying to find “the one”… and my “One” just came and sat down next to me in form room and said “hi”.

Charlie: That feels like a lifetime ago.

Nick: It was.

Nick returns to lying on his back.

Charlie: Nick?

Nick: Charlie, seriously, we need to get some sleep, we’ve got an early start in the morning.

Charlie: I know, just one more thing…

Nick turns his face to look back at Charlie again: Go on.

Charlie: I’m glad we got together when we did too. I don’t think I would have got through all that stuff back then without you.

Nick holds out his arm and Charlie snuggles into his chest: Yeah you would. You were always far stronger than you thought. But I was glad I was there to help.

Charlie turns his face to Nick and they share a soft kiss.

Charlie closes his eyes, knowing that he will never feel more loved, or more safe, than he does in the protection of Nick’s arms.

Solitaire – by Alice Oseman

Oh my it’s been some since I posted on this blog and, to tell the truth, I rather fell out of love with reading and writing for a while… how funny that a TV show has started bringing me back…

So, the Neflix show Heartstopper was released just over a month ago now… and I may have watched that a few times since then – It also made me want to discover the graphic novels that gave the story life (more of that on another post) – and following that I wanted to discover the other books which feature Nick and Charlie… my first stop was Solitare – the story of Tori Spring… did I like it? Was it as good as Heartstopper? Will I read more now… Let’s find out shall we??

Solitaire by Alice Oseman

Blurb: The acclaimed debut novel from Alice Oseman, the author of the 2021 YA Book Prize winning LovelessSolitaire features the characters that inspired the beloved webcomic and graphic novel series Heartstopper – now a major Netflix series.

The Catcher in the Rye for the digital age” The Times

My name is Tori Spring. I like to sleep and I like to blog. Last year – before all that stuff with Charlie and before I had to face the harsh realities of A-Levels and university applications and the fact that one day I really will have to start talking to people – I had friends. Things were very different, I guess, but that’s all over now.

Now there’s Solitaire. And Michael Holden.

I don’t know what Solitaire are trying to do, and I don’t care about Michael Holden.
I really don’t.

This incredible debut novel by outstanding young author Alice Oseman is perfect for fans of John Green, Rainbow Rowell and all unflinchingly honest writers.

My thoughts: Tori Spring is not happy. With herself. With other people. With life in general.

While this book features a number of characters from Heartstopper it is told with a very different tone. From the very start you can feel Tori’s “teen angst” – and that isn’t to say it’s all black wallpaper and woe is me – there is real feeling behind her pain and it does make you want to offer a helping hand, although I think that would just be slapped away!

Tori feels a pointlessness in her life, and the people in it – with the possible exception of her younger brothers, especially Charlie – and by extension his boyfriend Nick.

When unexplained pranks start being pulled around the school by the strangely named “Solitaire” Tori doesn’t care, she has no interest in how or why these things are happening…. and even the intriguing and confusing Michael Holden are not enough to really tempt her to get involved… until they are!

Things are getting serious, and worrying, if Tori doesn’t step up and do something then who will?

A really gripping read – I am loving this Heartstopper world – and cannot wait to discover more!

Fully recommend this read 🙂