Book Review – Crazy! Hot! And Living on the Edge

There is nothing like sitting in the garden on a Sunday afternoon and having a nice read – granted it would have been better with more sunshine but you can’t have everything. My book of choice this weekend was by “Crazy Hot! And Living on the Edge” by Shirley Harris-Slaughter https://www.amazon.co.uk/Crazy-Living-Edge-Shirley-Harris-Slaughter-ebook/dp/B00VQMO1YW/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1473784984&sr=8-1&keywords=crazy+hot+and+living (WordPress is driving me insane and wont let me put proper links in any more!!!)

crazyhotBlurb: Imagine experiencing emotions that have you questioning your sanity. Your body gets overheated at the least bit of excitement and you scramble to find a fan or some air. Or you find yourself in the throes of a panic attack and canโ€™t understand how to shut it off, so you are filled with anxiety wondering when the next one is coming. What if every time you take a drug you experience side-affects that you are warned about on the label?
The title was conceived in my mind after I thought over all the situations I had found myself in, how I got out of them, and the affect all of this had on my overall physical and mental well-being.
Crazy! Hot! And Living On the Edge!! Is the True Story of My Upside Down Life!

Rating: 4/5

My Thoughts:ย  This book is one woman’s personal experience of being at a certain age and having to battle through all of those wonderful health problems that can (and many will) come to us all. While the experience is personal much of what the author had to face will ring true to many of us and as such we can gain a “learn from my journey” benefit.

Several times I found myself thinking that “this is common sense” although it’s a kind of common sense that we all too often choose to ignore these days. We KNOW that we need good and healthy food to maintain a good and healthy body and yet the junk food and sweets can be all too appealing and easy to give in to.

It was interesting to read how the author improved her own health so significantly when the medical profession had failed to do so and as such gives a few really good pointers – rather than instantly reach for a pill to cure what ails us perhaps taking the time to find the cause would be a better step.

There were moments where we were allowed a very private insight into the author’s life which helped to round the book and make it so much more than a “dos and don’ts”.

A book well worth reading and should certainly give you food for thought!

7 thoughts on “Book Review – Crazy! Hot! And Living on the Edge

  1. Natalie what a pleasant surprise. I’ve been so preoccupied with personal matters that I barely have the time to read my inbox, which is where I found your review. I would have gotten more into the personal aspect but didn’t have the courage to tell it all. Now in hindsight I should have because the members have been so wonderful and didn’t judge me. Maybe someday I will do a re-write. Thank you so very much.

    • You’re very welcome – although Natalie?? ๐Ÿ™‚ I can imagine it’s not an easy thing to let strangers into your personal life – that must take a special kind of courage ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

