Book Review – Haunted Hearts

Thanks to the wonderful Rave Reviews Book Club I am discovering many new books and authors I might never have discovered before… and here is another one

My latest read was Haunted Hearts (#1: A Lana Malloy Paranormal Mystery) by Kim Cox

HauntedHeartsBook Blurb: Will Lana Malloy solve the twenty-year-old double murder of her great aunt and her great aunt’s fiancé by Memorial Day? If she can, they’ll spend eternity together; if she can’t, they’ll be stuck as Haunted Hearts for another year.

Rating: 4/5

My thoughts: This is the first of Kim Cox’s books I have read and although it’s only short (described as a novella) it’s a lot of fun.

This light hearted read follows a new Private Investigator Lana Malloy on her first case – to find the killer of her great aunt and her fiancé . Unlike most murder investigations Lana has the added help of in the shape of the victim!  Lana’s ability to talk to the dead is something she is very comfortable with and her great aunt is a fun and lively character – especially considering she had been dead for 20 years.

The actual “investigation” into the murders is minimal as the story is more focussed on the characters and Lana’s new blossoming romance.

Haunted Hearts is a good introduction to the Lana Malloy series and while it could be read as a one off I think getting to know more about these characters will certainly add to this world 🙂

5 thoughts on “Book Review – Haunted Hearts

  1. Thank you, Mae & Dawn. I’m so happy you enjoyed Haunted Hearts. The books get a little heavier and a little darker with each book, but they’re still not what I would call scary. Of course, I’m not too easy to scare. I think Haunted Hearts was the easiest book I’ve ever written. When I first wrote it, it was for an anthology with other authors and we were keeping the books at around 15K. Since self-publishing it, I’ve add more to move it from short story to novella size.

    I had it evaluated by a professional a month or so ago and it was recommended that I add a new first chapter of Lana’s first ghost encounter as a younger girl struggling with her gift that begins around age 10 and how her best friend, Demi and a recently departed Aunt Lucy help her to feel better and deal with the inevitable. I figure Lucy’s death triggered Lana’s gift. The two of them helping was mentioned in the story but not elaborated upon. Another addition is the scar on Lana’s (rather the model I used) face. It’s hard to see on the cover but in the book trailer (where the hearts are floating down), it’s pretty obvious. So, I thought I’d work that into the story as well. I’m not adding much, but just a short chapter. It should add more depth to Lana’s character. At least, that’s what I’m hoping.

Leave a Reply

