The Case of the Missing Boyfriend – book review

Hello once more and welcome to the world of my words. Today’s treats include fairy cakes, Yorkshire tea, and shortbread biscuits so I hope you have time to join me for a few minutes 🙂

As I may have mentioned I’m something of a writer and, as all good writers should be, I am also something of a reader. After all how can you learn to write well if you’ve never read anything good? It would surely be impossible to even know where to begin to write anything worthwhile. Reading is one of the most important tools in any writers armoury and so I thought now it might be time to start sharing my thoughts on a random selection of books.

Starting with this by the very talented Nick Alexander

The Case of the Missing Boyfriend

Cover Blurb: Thirty-nine year old CC is living the urban dream: a high-powered job in advertising, a beautiful flat, and a wild bunch of gay friends to spend the weekends with. And yet she feels like the Titanic – slowly, inexorably, and against all expectations, sinking.

The truth is, CC would rather be digging turnips on a remote farm than convincing the masses to buy a life-changing pair of double-zippered jeans – rather be snuggling at home with the Missing Boyfriend than playing star fag-hag in London’s latest coke-spots. But sightings of men without weird fetishes or secret wives are rarer than an original metaphor, and CC fears that pursuing the Good Life alone will just leave her feeling more isolated.

MissingCould her best friend’s pop-psychology be right? Are the horrors of CC’s past preventing her from moving on? And if CC finally does confront her demons, will she find the Missing Boyfriend? Or is it already too late?

 

My thoughts: I had never read, or heard of, Nick Alexander before I came across this book. I was simply in the mood for something new to read and as I remember this book happened to be on free-kindle promotion. The blurb sounded interesting and after all there was nothing to lose in giving it a go.

I was hooked from pretty much the opening of the book and devoured it as quickly as I could. Nick’s style of writing flows so easily that the pages just speed by without you even realising it. Written in the first person I have to say Nick Alexander does a brilliant job of getting into the mind of a thirty-something single woman and at no point do you find yourself thinking that something she says or does doesn’t fit in with the character.

Following on from the title of the book a large portion of the story focusses on CC’s search for the “missing boyfriend”, what she finds instead are a few less than suitable candidates and, without wanting to give too many spoilers I just have to say – Balloons!!??

CC’s group of friends naturally play a large part of the story, and her life, causing their own shares of laughter and tear along the way, each of them becoming as real and relatable as CC herself so much so that we hope the best for all of them – even if it is impossible for everyone to have a happy ending really.

Needless to say I absolutely loved this book and although it wont appeal to everyone (what book ever does) I would still recommend it (or any one of Nick’s other books) without hesitation.

Once I had read this book I was quickly searching out and devouring all of his back catalogue and now happily and eagerly wait for each new one to come along.

5STARS

Leave a Reply

